print preview

Mission

The OA-IA supervises the intelligence activities of the Federal Intelligence Service (FIS), the Military Intelligence Service (MIS), the Cantonal intelligence services (CIS) as well as third parties and other agencies commissioned by the FIS. It reviews these activities with regard to their legality, expediency and effectiveness.

The OA-IA coordinates its activities with parliamentary supervisory activities and with other federal and cantonal supervisory bodies. The OA-IA informs the DDPS about its activities in an annual activity report. This report is published.

The OA-IA has access to all relevant information and documents and has access to all premises of the supervised bodies. In order to carry out its supervisory activities, the OA-IA has access to all information systems and data files of the supervised entities; it may also access personal data which is particularly sensitive.

The OA-IA notifies the DDPS in writing of the results of its inspections and may make recommendations. The DDPS ensures that the recommendations are implemented. If the DDPS rejects a recommendation, it submits it to the Federal Council for decision.



Independent Oversight Authority for Intelligence Activities Maulbeerstrasse 9
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 20 75

Contact form

Independent Oversight Authority for Intelligence Activities

Maulbeerstrasse 9
3003 Bern

Aufgaben

Die AB-ND beaufsichtigt die nachrichtendienstliche Tätigkeit des Nachrichtendienstes des Bundes (NDB), des Nachrichtendienstes der Armee (NDA), der kantonalen Vollzugsbehörden sowie der vom NDB beauftragten Dritten und anderen Stellen. Sie überprüft diese Tätigkeiten auf ihre Rechtmässigkeit, Zweckmässigkeit und Wirksamkeit.

Die AB-ND koordiniert ihre Tätigkeit mit den parlamentarischen Aufsichtstätigkeiten sowie mit anderen Aufsichtsstellen des Bundes und der Kantone. In einem jährlichen Tätigkeitsbericht informiert die AB-ND das VBS über ihre Tätigkeiten. Dieser Bericht wird veröffentlicht.

Die AB-ND hat Zugang zu allen sachdienlichen Informationen und Unterlagen sowie Zutritt zu allen Räumlichkeiten der beaufsichtigten Stellen. Zur Erfüllung ihrer Aufsichtstätigkeit kann sie auf sämtliche Informationssysteme und Datensammlungen der beaufsichtigten Stellen zugreifen; sie kann auch auf besonders schützenswerte Personendaten zugreifen.

Die AB-ND teilt dem VBS das Resultat ihrer Überprüfungen schriftlich mit und kann Empfehlungen aussprechen. Das VBS sorgt für die Umsetzung der Empfehlungen. Weist das VBS eine Empfehlung zurück, so unterbreitet es diese dem Bundesrat zum Entscheid.


Unabhängige Aufsichtsbehörde über die nachrichtendienstlichen Tätigkeiten Maulbeerstrasse 9
3003 Bern
Tel.
+41 58 464 20 75

Kontaktformular


Kontakt drucken

Unabhängige Aufsichtsbehörde über die nachrichtendienstlichen Tätigkeiten

Maulbeerstrasse 9
3003 Bern

Karte ansehen